EASY VEGAN CRUMPETS

IMG_7377

After college last week I was really craving something indulgent and just a little cheat. So I was looking for something really yummy and I knew I couldn’t get any typical ‘cheat items’ like chocolate and cake, because most store bought ones aren’t vegan, but I came across Warburtons giant crumpets and it turned out they were vegan! I bought some obviously and I think I genuinely forgot how delicious crumpets are. I’m finished the pack within a week and now I can easily say I am completely obsessed with them. I wanted to make my own because I want everyone to try crumpets, and granted they won’t be as delicious as the factory made ones you buy in the store, but mine are pretty damn delicious with a good amount of butter and warmed up. Enjoy!!

IMG_7381IMG_7382IMG_7383IMG_7388IMG_7392

 

Time: 1 hr 30 min

Servings: 8 medium crumpets

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups plain white flour (or your flour of choice)
  • 1 heaped tsp of yeast
  • 1 heaped tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups non-dairy milk

METHOD

  1. Combine the flour, yeast, baking powder and salt in a bowl and mix together well
  2. Pour the milk into a glass and put it into the microwave for 20 secs, just warmer tan room temperature
  3. Form a hole/well in the middle of the bowl and pour the milk into the middle, whisk everything together well
  4. Cover with a damp cloth and leave in a warm part of your house and leave for 1 hour
  5. Heat up a large frying pan with vegan butter (can sub with olive oil.) If you have a biscuit ring, then great! Use that to keep the shapes of the crumpets, as I didn’t have one I just scooped 3 tablespoons full of the mixture slowly onto the pan and formed a circle
  6. Usually takes around 3 minutes each side on a high heat. Prick the crumpets with a fork in the middle to let the heat through
  7. SERVE 🙂 (warm with butter is my suggestion!)

One thought on “EASY VEGAN CRUMPETS

Leave a comment